Resources Board

Managing the resources of the Uniting Church involves preserving the generous legacies gifted to the Church by past leaders whilst providing sufficient and sustainable resourcing to current ministries.The Resources Board members have expertise in investment, finance, property, law, corporate governance, as well as Uniting Church ethos and polity and mission. The Board is well supported by a number of subcommittees.

Resources Board Mandate

The Resources Board’s mandate is:

'To serve the Church by maximising financial and property resources available to the Presbyteries and Synod for mission, and to assist the Presbyteries and Synod in allocating such resources efficiently in accordance with the mission priorities of the Church whilst managing the risk associated with these decisions.'

Responsibilities of the Resources Board

The Resources Board is responsible to the Presbyteries and Synod for:

  1. Identifying, incorporating and managing all Presbyteries and Synod property and finance resources within one Governance and management structure;
  2. Providing accurate and timely accounting and related support services to Presbyteries and Synod reporting bodies for which the Presbyteries and Synod have a stewardship responsibility;
  3. Developing appropriate policy for adoption by the Presbyteries and Synod and its Standing Committee for all Presbyteries and Synod finance, property, accounting and related matters, and ensuring implementation of such approved policy;
  4. Providing accounting, financial and property services to Uniting Church members and congregations as it deems appropriate, or as directed by the Presbyteries and Synod;
  5. Maintaining appropriate links with Presbyteries and Synod related bodies in ensuring resources of these bodies are managed effectively and made available appropriately for the mission of the Church;
  6. Undertaking other responsibilities as the Presbyteries and Synod or its Standing Committee shall determine.

Resources Team Contacts

Resources: Turn on Javascript!

Congregational Bookkeeping Unit: Turn on Javascript!

Financial Services: Turn on Javascript!

Human Resources: Turn on Javascript!

Insurance Services: Turn on Javascript!

Payroll Bureau Service: Turn on Javascript!

Property Services: Turn on Javascript!

Synergy: Turn on Javascript!

UC Invest: Turn on Javascript!

Resources Board Membership

Current Membership of the Resources Board




Rev Rob Stoner *


Mission Resourcing, Uniting Church Ethos & Polity

Rev Sue Page *

Acting General Secretary

Uniting Church Ethos & Polity

Dr Deidre Palmer *

Acting Moderator (Ex-officio)

Mission Resourcing, Uniting Church Ethos & Polity

Peter Battersby *

Executive Officer, Resources

Property Officer (Ex-officio)

Financial Management, Human Resources, Corporate Governance, Uniting Church Ethos & Polity

Rev Philip Gardner

Executive Officer, Pastoral Relations and Mission Planning (Ex-officio)

Mission Planning, Uniting Church Ethos & Polity

Michael McClaren *

Non Executive Member

Mission Planning, Uniting Church Ethos & Polity

Dr Alice McCleary *

Non Executive Member

Financial Management, Corporate Governance

Steve Roder *

Non Executive Member

Law, Corporate Governance, Property, Financial Management

Rev Robyn Caldicott *

Non Executive Member

Uniting Church Ethos and Polity, Finance, Mission

Mark Elford 

Non Executive Member

Mission Resourcing, Uniting Church Ethos and Polity, Small Business Management


Interim General Manager, Resources - Astrid Kuivasaari

Secretary (non-voting) - Leah Hopton

The eight members of the Property Trust are ex-officio members of the Resources Board. Property Trust members are indicated in the table above with an asterisk*.

Resources Board Meetings 2023

Meeting dates for 2023 are:

  • 16th February
  • 16th March
  • 18th May
  • 3rd August
  • 14th September
  • 16th November

Resources Board Annual Report and Budget

Each year the Resources Board presents a report to the for the members of Synod. Find the report below:

Resources Board 2022 Report and Budget Addendum

Resources Board: Sub-Committees

Uniting Church Investment Committee
Risk Management Committee
Property Committee
Ethical Investment Working Group
Uniting Venues SA Committee
Uniting Church SA Fundraising Sub-Committee
Synergy Committee