Rev Denise Champion Honoured

Posted in News

Rev Denise Champion is an internationally respected theologian author, teacher and speaker. A daughter of the Adnyamathanha Nation, she is the first South Australian Aboriginal woman to be ordained for ministry in the Uniting Church in Australia. For decades she has been a key leader in the Uniting Aboriginal and Islander Christian Congress, within both the South Australian Regional Council and the National Council of Congress and has exercised pastoral ministries at Port Augusta, Quorn and Salisbury North.

At the Adelaide College of Divinity (ACD) Graduation Ceremony on Monday, 2nd November, 2020, Rev Champion was awarded the degree of Doctor of Divinity (Honoris Causa) in recognition of her accomplishments as a Christian scholar and leader.

‘Aunty Denise has offered a gentle but courageous example of leadership that has reminded the Uniting Church of the commitment it has made to relationships with First Peoples. Through her organisation of walks on country she has challenged people to really relate to this land and its people, and has contributed to reconciliation. She has been an important model for young leaders,’ said Chris Budden, church leader.

In conferring this award on Aunty Denise, the ACD recognise her original, substantial and sustained contribution through her writing and theological education.

The Uniting Church in South Australia congratulates Rev Dr Denise Champion on this great honour.

More from News

Subscribe to receive News articles by email >


Update to COVID-19 restrictions in SA

On Friday, 27th November the South Australian Premier made several announcements relating to the current COVID situation in our state. These changes take effect from today, 1st December 2020.


Synod Standing Committee - November 2020 update

Synod Standing Committee Update refers to the recent 27th November 2020 meeting. It is published to inform the wider Uniting Church in SA community of the discussions, deliberations and decisions arising from each meeting of the Committee.


Comments (3)