Safe Church Training Courses

 Child Safe Environments | Called to Care | Code of Ethics Refresher

Interested in hosting a course? Email calledtocare@sa.uca.org.au to register your interest.

**Online registration for all course will be available in 2018. In the interim please email calledtocare@sa.uca.org.au indicating which course you wish to attend. You will then be advised when the registrations open.**


Child Safe Environments - Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect

Participant numbers in Child Safe Environments – Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect are sometimes limited to maximum numbers and preference will be given to members of the Uniting Church.

The Child Safe Environments courses educate participants about their legal obligation to report reasonable suspicion and concerns about child abuse and neglect. All church leaders, including Elders and Church Council are encouraged to participate in training and to maintain their knowledge in this area.

 

Full day (8 hours): The full-day training course is designed for those who have not undertaken training before or who have not undertaken training for four or more years. 

Saturday 10 February, 9.30am-4.30pm at Playford Uniting Church

Saturday 28 April, 9.30am-4.30pm at The Corner Uniting Church

Saturday 21 June, 9.30am-4.30pm at Uniting College for Leadership and Theology, Brooklyn Park

Saturday 1 September, 9.30am-4.30pm (location TBD)

 

Refresher (3 hours): Refresher courses are offered for participation once every three years.

Sunday 4 March, 1.30- 4.30pm at Campbelltown Uniting Church

Saturday 26 May, 9.30am-12.30pm at Coromandel Valley Uniting Church

Saturday 22 June, 9.30am-12.30pm at Uniting College for Leadership and Theology, Brooklyn Park

Saturday 1 September, 9:30 – 12:30pm at Athelstone Uniting Church

Saturday 3 November, 9.30am-12.30pm Bridgewater Uniting Church 


Called to Care

Called to Care Orientation Sessions 3 hours duration

For ministry to be effective, we need to incorporate safe and best practices in leadership, programs, actions, our behaviours and facilities. Called to Care promotes and assists the Uniting Church with relevant information about ensuring a safe physical, emotional and spiritual environment for all people.

The expectation is for members of Church Council and key leaders from congregations to attend. These training sessions provide an opportunity for congregations to gather together to share the experiences of the broader church.

Orientation sessions (3 hours): *locations TBD

Sunday 4 February, 1.30-4.30 pm at Balhannah Uniting Church

Saturday 3 March, 9.30am-12.30pm at Brougham Place Uniting Church

Sunday 8 April, 1.30-4.30 pm at Salisbury Uniting Church

Saturday 5 May, 9.30am-12.30pm *

Sunday 28 October, 1.30-4.30 pm *

Sunday 4 November, 1.30-4.30 pm *


Code of Ethics 

Code of Ethics refresher sessions are provided for Ministers and those in ministry placements. Participation in training in this area is required once every three years following completion of the full Code of Ethics “The Essentials” course.

Monday 19 February 2018, 9:30am-12:30pm * location TBA

Wednesday 31 October 2018, 1:30-4:30pm * location TBA